Tuesday, 27 August 2013

NO CEREMONY - PARTOFME

Single review by kev@thesoundofconfusion.co.uk


This is one of those cases where the video is as interesting as the music (and that's taking nothing away from the tune, more praising the video). It shows an unorthodox wedding with the bride and other attendees looking slightly gothic. At some points it doesn't look like a happy occasion, at others it very much does. After the ceremony the crowd gather for a photo on the steps of a city building, most seem to be wearing their daily attire. A piss-up ensues and a shop-bought gateau seems to act as the wedding cake. We assumed it was all staged and there would be some odd climax.

Then the end credits roll and they detail the people and the date that the wedding took place, so it was a genuine occasion after all. Much like their music, NO CEREMONY obviously don't do things as expected. 'PARTOFME' is from their album which is out next week and is a thoroughly modern piece of electro/indie that's laden with effects and imagination and crosses many boundaries. It would be nice to think that more cutting edge and innovative pop such as this would sell by the shed-load, but that may be wishful thinking. However, may we take this opportunity to wish the happy couple all the best!



NO CEREMONY's website

Buy the album

Catch them live:

Electric Picnic, Sat, Aug 31, Stradbally, UK
East Village Arts Club, Fri, Sept 13, Liverpool, UK
Brudenell Social Club, Sat, Sept 14, Leeds, UK
Hare and Hounds, Sun, Sept 15, Birmingham, UK
Moles, Monday, September 16, Bath, Somerset UK
The Hope Tues, Sept 17, Brighton, UK
Witloofbar, Thurs, Sept 19, Brussels, Belgium
Roundhouse - iTunes Festival, Wed, Sept 25, London, U
Paradiso, Thurs, Sept 26, Amsterdam, Netherlands
Reeperbahn Festival, Fri, Sept 27, Hamburg, Germany
Berlin Independent, Sat, Sept 28, Berlin, Germany
Lucerna Music Bar, Mon, Sept 30, Prague, Czech Republic
Gebaeude 9, Tues, Oct 1, Cologne, Germany
Rockhal Café, Thurs, Oct 3, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Chelsea Vienna, Fri Oct 4, Vienna, Austria
Movement, Sat, Oct 5, Padua, Italy
Electrowerks, Wed, Oct 9, London, UK
Norwich Arts Centre: Norwich Sound & Vision, Thurs, Oct 10, Norfolk
Simple Things, Sat, Oct 12, Bristol, UK
The Attic, Fri, Oct 18, Torquay, UK
The Deaf Institute, Sat, Oct 19, Manchester, UK





For more news, reviews and downloads follow The Sound Of Confusion on Facebook or Twitter

contact@thesoundofconfusion.com